ECPA announces finalists for 2017 Christy Awards

Winners will be announced at gala November 8 in Nashville—featuring Karen Kingsbury, Andrew Peterson, Chris Fabry, and more. The gala will follow The Art of Writing conference for writers, storytellers, and publishing curators held that afternoon.

The Evangelical Christian Publishers Association (ECPA) has announced the finalists for the 18th annual Christy Awards. Winners will be announced at the awards gala, taking place on November 8 at Lipscomb University in Nashville TN, which will be hosted by Best-Selling Christian Authors Karen Kingsbury, Andrew Peterson and Chris Fabry. The Christy Award™ exists to celebrate excellence in the art of Christian Fiction and honor the power of story.

“As the new caretakers and curators for The Christy Award, we are thrilled with the list of 27 finalists in the nine Christian fiction categories,” said Stan Jantz, Executive Director of ECPA.

The Christy Awards will be presented in these categories: General, Contemporary Romance, Historical Romance, Historical, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Visionary, First Novel, Young Adult and Short Form.

The nominees are:

Contemporary Romance:

Her One and Only, Becky Wade (Bethany House/Baker Publishing Group)

The Red Door Inn, Liz Johnson (Revell/Baker Publishing Group) Rescue Me, Susan May Warren (Revell/Baker Publishing Group)

First Novel:

Counted with the Stars, Connilyn Cossette (Bethany House/Baker Publishing Group) Like a River from Its Course, Kelli Stuart (Kregel Publications)

Stars in the Grass, Ann Marie Stewart (Barbour Publishing)

General Fiction:

Long Way Gone, Charles Martin (Thomas Nelson) The Promise of Jesse Woods, Chris Fabry (Tyndale House Publishers) The Undoing of Saint Silvanus, Beth Moore (Tyndale House Publishers)


Like a River from Its Course, Kelli Stuart (Kregel Publications) The Mark of the King, Jocelyn Green (Bethany House/Baker Publishing Group) Miriam, Mesu Andrews (WaterBrook)

Historical Romance:

A Note Yet Unsung, Tamera Alexander (Bethany House/Baker Publishing Group) From This Moment, Elizabeth Camden (Bethany House/Baker Publishing Group) The Lady and the Lionheart, Joanne Bischof (Mason Jar Books)


If I Run, Terri Blackstock (Zondervan) When Death Draws Near, Carrie Stuart Parks (Thomas Nelson) Without Warning, Joel C. Rosenberg (Tyndale House)

Short Form:

Looking into You, Chris Fabry (Tyndale House Publishers)

Mirror Image, Laura Scott (Harlequin Love Inspired Suspense) Restoring Christmas: A Novella, Cynthia Ruchti (Worthy Inspired, an imprint of Worthy Publishing Group)


The Alliance, Jolina Petersheim (Tyndale House Publishers) King’s Folly, Jill Williamson, (Bethany House/Baker Publishing Group) The Long Journey to Jake Palmer, James Rubart (Thomas Nelson)

Young Adult:

If You’re Gone, Brittany Goodwin (Edge of 22 Publishing) The Silent Songbird, Melanie Dickerson (Thomas Nelson) Unblemished, Sara Ella (Thomas Nelson)

Jantz continues, “These talented storytellers, representing the curation and investment of 12 different publishers, passed a rigorous process to get to this point. We congratulate them and look forward to the announcement of the winners in each category at The Christy Award gala on November 8.”

This year, the awards have special meaning as they take place exactly 50 years after the groundbreaking novel Christy by Catherine Marshall (the awards